H!P Vlogs: Favorite H!P Songs of 2016 – Extra Notes

I just wanted to talk about a few big things that happened in Hello! Project this year besides the music releases, namely graduations and graduation announcements.

Graduations This Year: Suzuki Kanon (Morning Musume ’16), Tamura Meimi (ANGERME), Inaba Manaka (Country Girls)

I’ve been a big fan of Zukki since she joined, so I was sad to see her go, but I felt she had been wasted in the group for a long time (I didn’t feel that bringing her out long enough to make fun of her “chubby” character counted as using her, even though she seemed to take it in stride). I was happy to see that she got a fairly prominent part in “Utakata Saturday Night!,” but the other two songs on her graduation single were sorely lacking her presence. I especially hoped that she would have gotten a more prominent line for “The Vision.” Anyway, while I was sad to see her go, she had had a fairly good run in the group, and she had already decided on something else to work toward outside of entertainment, so I wasn’t quite as broken up as I thought I would be.

As for Meimei, I wasn’t a huge fan of her when she first joined the group. She might have actually been my least favorite because she was just SO in-your-face. In the past couple of years, though, I grew to really appreciate her powerful vocals, and she seemed like a fun and funny person, so she slowly climbed up my ANGERME ranking. It’s too bad it took me so long to become a fan of her. orz

Manakan’s graduation hit me the hardest, I think. It was without ceremony, and it was due to her illness, so I felt that she had been cheated out of a very successful future. I’m not saying that I wanted her to continue performing despite her illness; I’m just sad that she didn’t have more time to show off just what an amazing performer she is. Dynamic dancing, adorable singing voice, super-cute look… one of my favorites in H!P overall in the year or so leading up to her graduation. I sincerely hope her health improves, even if she doesn’t continue performing.

Graduation Announcements: °C-ute, Tsugunaga Momoko

The graduation announcements for the rest of the H!P Kids were definitely expected… and yet I was still shocked and dismayed. °C-ute has never been my favorite H!P group, but I’ve always liked them (and Airi is one of my all-time favorite H!P members), so I was sad to hear about them disbanding. It made me feel kind of lonely, because I knew they were the last group that had been around when I first started listening to H!P (not counting MM because all of the members are different from when I started listening). After it was announced, I remember thinking, “Well, at least Momo will still be around…”

… And then her graduation was announced. orz Again, I KNEW it had to be coming soon, but I was rather upset anyway. I’ll probably talk about this more when she actually graduates, but when I first started getting into H!P music and video clips, Momo was my least favorite member in all of H!P. Fast-forward to now where she’s one of my top five favorite members and I have more respect for her than possibly any other current member of H!P. I hope June doesn’t come too quickly… TT_TT

Ayacho… you’re all that’s left… Please don’t leave yet! orz

I have some other general thoughts about the direction H!P is going… but maybe I’ll save that for another vlog/blog. ^_~

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

