Country Girls 3rd Single Critique

Boogie Woogie LOVE
I really love the 50s style used for the outfits and music video~! The diner setting with all of the signs on the wall is so great! MVs always hold my interest more when they have something fun in the background instead of just an empty room (… maybe I should do something about my own YouTube videos if that’s the case… XD). I even liked the “other” shots with the lollipops and cars even though they’re pretty much the type of scenes I don’t usually care for (standing/sitting somewhere and just staring off into space thoughtfully). Once again, thank you, interesting set! I’m not 100% sure how I feel about the dance. I know I really like the leg swing during the beginning of the chorus, and there are a few other moves that look pretty good, but the camera moves around so much. O_O My initial though was, “Wow, they’re kind of all over the place,” but I know there’s some rhyme and reason to it… it would just be easier to confirm if I could see it straight on without any camera changes. orz Overall, I like this video~.
Line that gets stuck in my head: Hold me tight / Dakishimete yo, Fall in love

Koi wa Magnet
This one has a bit of an 80s sound, which gives this single a nice variation. While I didn’t find the background for this one as interesting as “Boogie Woogie LOVE,” it was still pretty neat with the swirling, striped design in the huge windows. I rather liked the “other” shots for this, even though, once again, they’re just sort of staring off into space. The individual settings are pretty though~. I love Manaka and her amazing dancing, but her powerful dance break in this seemed a bit jarring after the relaxed style of the rest of the dance. =/ Overall, I really like this video, too~.
Line that gets stuck in my head: Shall we dance?

Ranrarun ~Anata ni Muchuu~
AAAAHHHH! FINALLY! This this this THIS is what I’ve wanted from H!P for so long! This reminds me of older H!P music videos… something like a combination of “I WISH” and a Tanpopo video after Kago and Rika joined with a little “Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band” thrown in for good measure. I love this so much~! It has a fun background, story scenes, cuteness (their dresses and the heart lights in their eyes~!), silliness (most of the video XD), a nice dance (from what I could see of it), and the song is unbelievably catchy~!! =D I know it’s a cover song, but that doesn’t matter in the least; it got stuck in my head right away (not even an exaggeration). This is definitely my favorite video, and it has to be my favorite track from this amazing single!
Line that gets stuck in my head: Ranrarun, anata ni muchuu na no (Let’s be honest; the entire song has gotten stuck in my head multiple times already. XD)

Seriously, Country Girls is absolutely killing it (in a good way)! I’ve loved every single one of their releases since their debut (Country Girls’ debut, not Country Musume‘s)~. I was a little skeptical about them adding Nanami and Funakki because, even though I knew both girls were talented, I thought the lineup was perfect as it was. Lucky for me (and everyone!), 2nd gen. only helps add to the group’s charm. Hooray~!! Momo is doing such an amazing job as their playing manager (Happy Birthday, Momo~!) ♥ Argh, I can’t get over how much I love this single. If you’re at all able, I would definitely recommend buying this; I know I will~!

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

