Berryz Koubou Music Video Rankings – Round 4

Guess who finally decided to work on ranking Berryz Koubou’s PVs? Correct! Me. XD orz (And I actually had this post written out almost a month ago, but I still didn’t post it. (^__^”)) Let’s see, where did I leave off… ah, yes! This is where it really starts getting difficult, because all singles from here on came out after I became a fan, so they all have fond memories associated with them. Well, I’ll see if I can make up my mind. Here’s Round 4!

Dschinghis Khan

Lots of spazzy cuts and a huge group of tiny kids to start it out! It’s promising! XD Is it just me, or did I see some of the little kids doing one of those moves that a lot of wota do (jumping in a circle while clapping hands)…? XD I love the solo shots with the girls and their various props (guitar, megaphone, tambourine, pom poms, etc.). Cap, you rock the keytar! XDD Chinami totally won for the solo shots, though; she was so goofy in this, and I loved it! =D

Yuke Yuke Monkey Dance

I remember all of the arguing when this one came out; a lot of people thought it was insulting to the members while others thought it was fun and exactly the kind of craziness that H!P needed to revisit from time to time. I was part of the latter group (not that I had a presence on the Internet at the time to make my opinion knows). Anyway, on to the video! This exhibited effective use of cheesy clip-art swipes with the banana, so that’s appreciated. XD The reveal of the monkey costumes was absolutely perfect. Chinami and Maasa were totally owning those costumes! Some of the faces they made… XD I think the Monkey Vers. of this music video is one of the most enjoyable group shots of a PV I’ve seen.

MADAYADE

Look! Foreigners! (Somehow, that sounds kind of bad. (^__^”)) When the video first started, I was worried that they would be slightly unpleasant characters in this video (strict or cold or what have you), and, unfortunately, for the most part, they did live up to that expectation, at least when compared with the fun and fancy-free office Berryz. (^__^”) Other than that, thank goodness for an actual set! Also, I call those Berryz’ Starburst outfits, because the colors reminded me of the candy. XD I think I remember seeing that this song was the lowest-ranked single on that final fan song ranking they did for Berryz, which is kind of too bad. =/ I like it~. This video actually had something that I always want to see in PVs: a story. Not much of one, granted (Berryz members work in an office), but it’s there.

Dakishimete Dakishimete

2009! Berryz really started to shine this year! I do believe this song/dance might be one of the most popular Berryz singles with Westerners…? It is, at least, the most popular Berryz song on (the US) iTunes. I have reeeeally fond memories of this song. It came out just a couple of months before I graduated from high school and got my two-year degree. Anyway… amazing song, amazing dance, great costumes (… for the most part…). They look really cheesy, but I love the multiplied Berryz with a psychedelic background shots! What else is there… a couple of group “look back at the camera” shots; the DJ shots, of course; a few slowed down parts… I also liked the use of lights to change coloring of the speakers for the backgrounds of their close-up shots.

Final ranking for these four singles…

4. Dschinghis Khan
3. Yuke Yuke Monkey Dance
2. Dakishimete Dakishimete
1. MADAYADE

I know; I was surprised, too. As much as I wanted sentimentality to rule by making “Dakishimete Dakishimete” number one, it still didn’t have the discernible story that “MADAYADE” had. =/ Well, that’s all for this one! Who knows when I’ll get the next one up. orz Until then~!

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

