Berryz Koubou Music Video Rankings – Round 2

Special Generation

As much as I love this song, the music video didn’t have much going for it. Lots of inset videos, somewhat cheesy light/sparkle overlays, and that swirl-in border effect. The glowing blue-and-white background was kind of neat, though. There wasn’t any story in this video either (just dance shot, solo dancing, close ups, and that small part where they all posed), so it loses some points for that, too. =/

Nanchuu Koi wo Yatteruu YOU KNOW?

On the subject of videos with stories, this one… sort of has one. It’s super bare-bones if I’m not imagining it in the first place. I think it takes the first couple of lines from each verse and makes that the story (they mention mailing/texting and talking on the phone). The floating screen close-ups in front of the “other shots” (them looking at their cell phones) are pretty cool. I actually like the computer-y effects with the random flashing boxes and lines throughout the video. The first half of the dance break drives me slightly crazy with the basketball pantomiming (and the ending moves kind of bug me, too), but, oddly enough, the second half during which they’re using obvious basketball movements to dance doesn’t bother me at all. Other than that, I think the outfits fit the song, the dance is actually pretty interesting, and I love the song itself, so… yeah.

21ji Made no Cinderella

Hooray for an actual set! I always seem to love diner sets. Their outfits are so all-over-the-place and yet… I love them? XD This has all of the usual shots (dance, close up, pose), but it also has some fun shots of the girls drinking juice, passing around gifts, posing cutely, and… hold on, what’s up with that mannequin by the door?! Maybe it just looks topless because I’m watching a lower quality video… *puts in Berryz MV Blu-ray collection* … Nope. … Nope, that is definitely a topless mannequin. Scandalous. XD Other than that, this is a fun video~. XD

Gag 100kaibun Aishite Kudasai

So. Much. FUN! The goofy dance, the outfits that totally don’t go with the bandanna-esque background for the dance shot… not to mention there’s not one brooding, stare-at-the-camera pose to be seen! Instead, we get the girls looking giddy with their love letters, contemplating their painting subjects, and then freaking out when the still life they’re trying to paint flies everywhere (and you can totally see the strings holding the stuff in the air). XD This is one of the earliest Berryz songs I remember listening to, and I still love it (plus, it’s such a Momo-fest, and I am quite a big fan of Momoko). =D

Jiriri Kiteru

Aaand back to serious Berryz (though I totally love them for the fact that they can be serious, or cute, or silly and still make anything work for them). I really like the desaturated look of this music video. As cheesy as the scenes are, the crying, running, and grabbing onto the fence are a pretty accurate representation of the sort of desperate feel of this song. I’m quite fond of this dance, too.

These five were fairly easy to rank, though it took me a moment to figure out whether or not I wanted to switch 3 and 4 (the dance was a big factor here: it hurt “Nanchuu” and helped “Jiriri”). So my final ranking for their 6th through 10th singles are as follows:

5. Special Generation
4. Nanchuu Koi wo Yatteruu YOU KNOW?
3. Jiriri Kiteru
2. 21ji Made no Cinderella
1. Gag 100kaibun Aishite Kudasai

The adorable, fun videos always seem to be favorites of mine~. The next five should be coming soon (much sooner than these ones were (^__^”)>)!

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

