Berryz Koubou Music Video Rankings – Round 1

In this post, I’ll rank the music videos for Berryz Koubou’s first five music videos. Here we go!

Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai

Ahh~~ look at how tiny they weeerrreee! I don’t actually mind their silver-jacketed outfits (though I can’t help but giggle at the attempts to look hip-hop-ish with the hats and bandannas and cool poses XD), but their outfits for the dance shot… orz Although, I must say, just for nostalgia’s sake, they have grown on me a bit~. I still like the fact that this video (along with many of their other older ones) has the “special” shots (that is, shots that aren’t close-ups or dancing). Sure, they’re just running/riding around on scooters, but at least they’re doing SOMETHING, which is more than can be said for quite a few of their videos from the last few years (and that goes for the other H!P groups, too).

Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!

The dance was pretty weak for this one, but the music video was actually really enjoyable! You are “CELEB” or NOT?? XD The girls are so adorable in this one, trying on clothes and makeup and getting irritated when they are NOT CLEAR!! as celebs. XDD And then, as soon as they’re cleared, they get to head into the exclusive pool room. XD And I love, love, LOVE that they do the fighting poses in their “celeb” clothes in the pool near the end. (Is it just me, or did Yurina get a CLEAR!!! twice, while Chinami didn’t get any? XD)

Piriri to Yukou!

I love the outdoor setting, and the bus is fun, too, as it vaguely reminds me of Morning Musume’s “Joshi Kashimashi Monogatari” video. Shoving each other out of the way and getting all up in the camera is always amusing. XD I actually rather like both of their outfits for this single. Also, I believe they ran around in a circle in all of their first three videos (well, to be specific in “Anata Nashi” they skipped, “Fighting Pose” they ran, and this one they joined hands and ran, right?). The marching and sparkler shots were cute, too. It looked like Momo almost fell over right at then end there. XD

Happiness ~Koufuku Kangei!~

SKY TRAIN! XD I didn’t realize just how elaborate their earlier videos were in comparison with their newer stuff. I always love the spinning camera shots, so the table scenes in this made me happy. Their dancing is still a little all-over-the-place, but that kind of adds to the childish charm of their earliest videos, don’t you think? I can’t help but deduct a couple of points for the ridiculous ending pose, though. =/

Koi no Jubaku

This is the first time I noticed the sign that said “Don’t run in the hallway!” as Chinami is running up the steps in the beginning. XD This video actually has some really nice shots, and I like that they had a bit of a story for this video. At first, I was going to complain that they didn’t have enough of a story, but, after reading the translation, the scenes with all of them sitting around the desks and giving each other sideways glances has a lot more gravity. I’ve always liked the outfits they had for the dance in this one… all the bright colors~.

I’ve tried very hard to not consider the songs themselves (lyrics, yes, as they can help or hinder the video itself; music, no, because that would make it harder on me) when ranking these music videos, so my final ranking for their first five PVs is as follows:

5. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai
4. Happiness ~Koufuku Kangei!~
3. Koi no Jubaku
2. Piriri to Yukou
1. Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!

Though it was their lowest-selling single, the cuteness of the music video for “Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!” really won me over. That’s all for this one! The next five will be coming soon~!

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

