Mitsui Aika to Graduate from Morning Musume

I always knew Mittsi would get the short stick for graduations, but this is a bit much. (^_^”)> She will be graduating from Morning Musume alongside Gaki-san on May 18th but will remain in Hello! Project. My guess is that she’ll do MC work or something similar.

I feel kind of bad about this because I’m seeing a lot of “I’m not a fan of her…” comments, and I’m sure I’ll see some “Good riddance,” comments as well. (>_<*) Even if she was never front and center, and even if you were never a fan, she still put time and effort into her activities, so I hope others will respect that.

As for me, though Mittsi wasn’t my favorite member, I’d still call myself a fan. I really loved her deeper singing voice, which was, unfortunately, very under-used, in my opinion; she sounded really great for her raps in “Nanchatte Renai” and “Silver no Udedokei.” =D Also, even though she used her higher, more nasally voice in her solo, “Watashi no Miryoku ni Kizukanai Donkan na Hito,” I liked that song, too~.

I remember not really liking Mittsi when I first started watching H!P stuff. I thought her super-high voice was annoying, and she seemed a bit bratty. After a while, though, I would read blog translations about her bringing snacks for the other members or something like that. After seeing her interact with and teach the kyuukies when they first joined, I realized that she would make a great leader. It’s unfortunate that that will never happen.

It’s really too bad that she’s had to go through all the health problems. I’ve suffered from a few foot injuries from dancing in the past couple of years but nothing as severe as hers.

I love Gaki-san, and I hope her graduation is very special, but I also hope Mittsi gets a bit of recognition, too. When the MM singles featured mostly Ai-chan and Reina, Gaki-san and Kamei were usually the secondary members to be featured. Koharu and Sayu got some attention, too, of course, but the eighth generation was usually in the background. That’s rather sad to me. =(

After the upcoming graduation, only two members will remain from the first MM lineup I knew. o_o

Sorry about this post being all over the place; I just woke up a little while ago, so I’m still a little out of it. (^_^”)>

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

