Hello! Project Music 2011 – Part 2: Berryz Koubou

Favorite Single – “Ai no Dangan”

Favorite Coupling Track – “Omoide” [“Ai no Dangan”]

Favorite Album Track – “Icchoume Rock!,” “BOMB BOMB JUMP”

Favorite Cover – 7 Berryz Times [Regular], “Aa, Yo ga Akeru” [Limited C]

Favorite PV – “Heroine ni Narou ka!”

Favorite PV Moments (“Heroine ni Narou ka!”) – The strobe-type effect used on some parts (I believe there’s one for Miya and one for Captain, and some during the dance scenes)

Favorite PV Moments (“Ai no Dangan”) – Walking “off” the screen near the beginning; heart “bullets” during the chorus; silhouette poses

Favorite PV Moments (“Aa, Yo ga Akeru”) – Well, the settings are gorgeous. (^_^”)>

Favorite Dance – “Heroine ni Narou ka!”

Favorite Costume – “Heroine ni Narou ka!” (Cover outfits; Momo‘s in particular)

 

Berryz Koubou started out the year with “Heroine ni Narou ka!,” which has a powerful and catchy chorus. The coupling track, “Hero Arawaru!,” is more fun than serious, and sounds very much like a Berryz song to me (though parts of it make me think of Buono!‘s music). It kind of reminds me of “Maji Bomber!,” for some reason.

“Ai no Dangan” gives off a similarly cool vibe as the previous single, but the PV is more mature than “Heronie ni Narou ka!,” if only by the outfits and dance. This is actually my favorite Berryz A-side from 2011, though I don’t care for the PV. The coupling track, “Omoide,” is my favorite coupling track from them this year. The line distribution is really even, and the chorus got stuck in my head right away. I also love the intro music; it kind of reminds me of a video game.

Their third and final single of the year, “Aa, Yo ga Akeru,” is actually fairly upbeat, though the PV makes it look like it will be more of a ballad (at least, to me it does) with its soft lighting, lovely locations, and pretty pink outfits (though I’m not much for the nightgown look…). Though I don’t listen to it much, the coupling track, “Otona ni wa Nari Takunai Hayaku Otona ni Naritai” is actually rather good. It has a slightly dramatic, rock-ish sound, and I always start bopping along right away.

The album that they released earlier in the year, 7 Berryz Times, didn’t have a bad song on it. The opening music for “Joshikai The Night” reminded me vaguely of S/mileage‘s “Smile Bijin,” and I really love the layered vocals as well as Risako‘s and Miyabi’s whispered lines. “Girls Times” is really fun and adorable, too~.

Overall, though I think their music is a bit weaker this year than in previous years, I still think Berryz had quite a good year. =D

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

