Morning Musume – 12, Smart Album Review

Sorry for the long wait! m(_ _)m

1. Give me LOVE
– After listening to it a couple of times, I realized that it reminded me of “Aishite Aishite Ato Ippun” a bit. I like how the verses are arranged with a solo line then a shared line. And of course I like the echoing effect on the “Give me love” lines. =) As a general thought for these songs (and, I suppose all Morning Musume songs), I have to wonder who will take over all of Ai-chan‘s lines. Will Gaki-san get them, or will they be divided between Reina and Riho? And will “Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~” ever be performed again?! I’m getting off topic… (^_^”)>

2. Only you
– I absolutely love this song! I don’t even mind that Ai-chan and Reina sing most of it. The chorus is so catchy and the dance is easy to remember and fun to do. Plus, Gaki-san’s lines are awesome! =D

3. Silver no Udedokei
– I was impressed with Riho’s first few lines (though many of her other lines seemed rather nasally =/); she continues to improve with each song. =) I was also very impressed with Mittsi‘s rap; I think she could really benefit from singing in her lower voice more often. It seems much more natural than the high voice she usually uses. One last thing about this song… the line “Dry ya eyes” kind of irritates me. (-_-“)

4. Suki da na Kimi ga
– I actually rather like this song, but… I can hardly hear Fuku-chan! D= I’m not sure how I feel about the staccato sound of some of the lines (“nemui keredo” etc.), but I rather enjoy the chorus. I may like the song more if it wasn’t so long. (^_^”)>

5. Kaiketsu Positive A
– I’m not very fond of the solo lines in the verses, but I like the chorus well enough. I will say Eripon‘s lower voice was a pleasant surprise, and I liked Mittsi’s solo lines. Overall, it’s not my favorite track on the album. =/ Maybe it will grow on me with time; others have~. =)

6. Kono Ai wo Kasanete
– This is a lovely, mellow song featuring Ai-chan and Gaki-san. It vaguely reminds me of “Loving you forever” from their 10 My Me album, as well as “Koe” from their Ai no Dai 6kan album (especially Gaki-san’s “Uh fu” lines during the music break). It’s very pretty and relaxing~.

7. Kono Chikyuu no Heiwa wo Honki de Negatterun da yo!
– Another song with awesome Gaki-san lines! As I’ve said before (I think), I wasn’t terribly impressed with this song when I first heard the radio preview. In fact, it wasn’t until I learned the dance that I really appreciated it. The chorus has great lyrics, and the music is very disco-y; what a great combination. XD

8. Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai!
– I do believe this song ties with “Only you” for my favorite Morning Musume single this year; actually, I may even like this one a little more. =D It really reminds me of the older Morning Musume songs because it’s more fun than a lot of their recent stuff (as much as I love some of their more mature songs, “Nanchatte Renai” being one of my absolute favorite H!P songs, I really love listening to their happy, upbeat music~). I never thought a song with Sayumi as lead would end up being one of my favorites (then again, I loved “Fantasy ga Hajimaru” from their Fantasy! Juuichi album). =D

9. My Way ~Joshikou Hanamichi~
– This reminds me of another H!P song, or, at least, of a style from another H!P group, but, of course, I can’t place it. orz I’m glad that the lines were more evenly distributed, and the tune is fairly catchy. I think I like this one more than “Kaiketsu Positive A,” but I’ll have to listen to both more to be sure. (^_^”)>

10. Otome no Timing
– This kind of sounds like it would be a Berryz Koubou album track. XD It also reminds me of S/mileage‘s “Jitensha Chiririn.” Though I don’t mind Mittsi’s voice in this, I still prefer it when she sings lower. Zukki, on the other hand, sounds great, especially for having as little experience as she does. Eripon is more in the “high-pitched, nasally” group for her singing (which is cute enough in small doses), so I believe I like Zukki’s voice the most in this song. =D

11. OK YEAH!
– I’m not the biggest fan of the opening “OKs,” and I could take or leave the “Yeah yeah yeah yeah x2” parts, but, otherwise, I enjoy this song. =D I thought the song had switched to Berryz Koubou’s “Dschinghis Khan Tarutaru Mix” for a second during the instrumental break because of that “Go yes, go yes” (or whatever is being said) part. XD

12. Maji Desu ka Ska!
– Oddly enough, there are times when I dread this song coming up in a shuffled playlist; it’s not that I dislike it (far from it), but I listened to it so much when it first came out and when I was learning the dance that it neared the point of joining “Koi no Dance Site,” “Renai Revolution 21,” “The Peace!,” “Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~,” and others on my “List of Songs That I’ve Exhausted.” However, just like all of those songs, I find that, when the song does come up, I still enjoy listening to it. XD It’s still a very fun song and a good reminder of not only the ninth generation but also of the return of happier MM singles~. ^_^

Overall, 12, Smart is a solid album with a few great singles and some catchy album tracks. I can’t seem to give it as much attention as I’m sure it deserves yet (I think 10 My Me spoiled me (^_^”)>), but I’m sure I’ll warm up to the songs after a bit. After all, in my review for their Fantasy! Juuichi album, I didn’t have much to say about “Itoshiku Kurushii Kono Yoru ni,” but I love it now~. =D

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

