Regarding the S/mileage Auditions

First of all, I’ll say that I don’t mind too much about a new member being added. I do like the current S/mileage a lot, but adding another member wouldn’t make me stop liking them. I would, however, like to address a few things…

1) Having a fifth member would make it easier to center on one girl, obviously. If one of the members had, I don’t know, a photobook or play or something coming up, she’d be able to take center for a song and get more attention; however, the current arrangement for S/mileage also works well in my opinion. Pairing the girls off for certain moves can have a nice effect (as can be seen, for example, in the dance break of “OO Ganbaranakutemo Eenende!!” and in various parts for “Koi ni Booing Buu!”), though I suppose this could still be done with five members if you were to have one member singing and the other four paired off for the dancing.

2) I have only a very slight concern over the current members’ reactions to the new member. In the YouTube video announcing the new member auditions, they seemed kind of… shocked still. When they were talking in the beginning of the video, I was getting a “Do we really have to do this?” feeling from them (though I was quite proud of Ayacho‘s attitude for the whole thing ^_^). I like to believe that they will be kind and accepting, but I’m reminded of Morning Musume when Junjun and Linlin first joined. The other members weren’t openly hostile, but it seemed kind of like, “Oh yeah, they’re part of the group, too, aren’t they?,” especially with Linlin. But then, look at how close they became with the other members after their first couple of years; I think that was obvious during their graduation. So, even if they get off to a rocky start, I’m sure everything will be fine with the members themselves. ^_^

3) My biggest concern is the fans’ reactions. It’s already been fairly negative; the aforementioned YouTube video currently has 281 likes and 221 dislikes. Many of the comments are negative reactions. The poor girl hasn’t even joined yet and she already has so many people hating her. =\ I can see why people might not be very happy (could you have imagined them adding a fourth member to Buono! after five or six singles?), but I don’t think that’s the best reason to hate a member who hasn’t even been added yet or to abandon the group altogether. I honestly hope the new member isn’t treated badly/coldly by fans after she joins.

So, that’s what I think. (^_^”)>

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

