Berryz Koubou – Heroine ni Narou ka! PV

Settings – The main setting (for the dance shot) is an interestingly-lit room that reminds me vaguely of “Dakishimete Dakishimete,” except less 70s and more 80s with a lot of geometric patterns made with the lights. The settings for the other/story scenes vary, but they all seem to have a aged/worn look. The backdrop for the closeups is just a white, circular… fan-looking… thing. (^_^”)>

Outfits – For the dance shot/other scene outfits, I’m really confused as to why Miyabi‘s is so different from the others. And, in my opinion, it’s not even a good kind of different. (-_-”) I do like everyone else’s, though. As for the “Gaga-esque” look for the closeups… I’m not really a fan. I really don’t like the look on Momo and Maasa, but Captain can pull it off fairly well (as well as long hair~). While I don’t mind the eye makeup (or “face accessories” in Maasa’s and Yurina‘s cases XD), the outfit looks rather clown-ish, and the wigs are… eh. (-_-”)

Dance – This dance looks like it will be a lot of fun to do. =) I recognize a few moves: the kick seen in “Resonant Blue;” the circle in front of the eye, which reminds me of “Otakebi Boy WAO!” (and a couple of Perfume dances); and a couple of moves that remind me of “Dance de Bakoon!” But there seems to be enough original moves for it to be memorable. And I love the ending move. =D (Also, though not really part of the dance, I like how they faded out.)

Acting – How often have we seen the “staring at something/off in the distance pensively” acting in PVs? … Well, I suppose there’s only so much that can be done when using only the group members as the “cast.” For the ending closeups, where each member does some random pose, I think Chinami wins, though Captain is a close second.

Singing – I love the “HEROI~NE” parts. ^_^ Also… hooray for solo lines for everyone! I’m fairly certain that this is one of the most (if not THE most) evenly distributed Berryz singles ever. If I counted correctly (and this was just by watching the PV), there were nine lines for Yurina (if you include the odd sort of backup lines in the verses; only three if you don’t), seven for Risako, and six for everybody else! Nice~!

Song – The more I listen to it, the more I like it. ^__^ I love how powerful they made the last minute-or-so sound. =D I also like the backup singing by Yurina in the verses. The chorus is really catchy!

Overall, I think Berryz has definitely started the year off right with this single. And I love them so much for being the “different” group.

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

