Morning Musume Singles 1-5 Ranking

Okay, I thought I would make it a little easier on myself by separating Morning Musume’s singles into groups of five. It helped… barely. XD So, here is my ranking of the first five MoMusu singles. I tried to rank only the songs, but that proved very difficult, because I can’t help but think about the PVs when I hear the music. =\ I tried, though.

5. Manatsu no Kousen

– It’s not that I dislike the song; it’s just that I forget about it. (^_^”)> With most of their other songs, I can member the first time I heard it, or the first time I saw the PV, or I can associate it with something at least. With this one… there’s nothing. Regrettably.

4. Morning Coffee

– Again, I really like this song, especially the overlapping vocals, but the PV didn’t leave too much of an impression on me (as much as I try to focus on the song only!), so it’s always something like, “Um…. yeaaah… I like that one,” if you know what I mean. I actually prefer “Ai no Tane” over “Morning Coffee.”

3. Summer Night Town

– I really like the second generation’s backup singing in this. XD I like the whole song, actually, but the “Smile, smile, smile,” no matter how memorable, cannot compare to…

2. Daite HOLD ON ME!

– … “Nee waratte?” XD And, of course, Mari’s “Whoo, hold on me.” Seriously, though. This song is really catchy, and very deserving of being Morning Musume’s first #1 single. I like the rap as well. (As with most of these earlier releases, though, the PV didn’t leave much of an impression on me.)

1. Memory Seishun no Hikari

– I think I like this so much because of the amazing harmonies. The rapping seems a bit out of place, but, somehow, it’s refreshing (yes, in all of its cheesiness; “point blank you’re the love of my life, word” XD). This song is really memorable and slightly haunting to me, and I love it. Word. XD

So, that’s my ranking for the first five Morning Musume singles. And if it was that hard for me to rank the singles that I don’t listen to much, I’m going to have a really hard time with their later singles. T_T

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

