Shuffle! ~五~ Week 4

1. Morning Musume – I WISH – Oh, this song… I love it, but if I think about the graduation performances of it, I start to tear up. Everyone sounds great in this (though I wish there was a little less Maki and a little more Mari, but that’s probably my favoritism talking). I love the whole message of the song: life is wonderful. And of course there’s sweet little Aibon’s high note at the end; that’s what I like to think of when I think of Kago: the lovely voice, not the scandals. Anyway… of course I have to mention the PV; it was awesome. One of Momusu’s best.

2. Berryz Koubou – Koi no Jubaku – The beginning really has the magical qualities to match the title. After that, it turns into a normal-ish pop song, with some… dance elements, I guess? As far as vocals, they’re okay; after all, they were still fairly new at this point. I really like the singing during the choruses, though. Also, I love the cover of the single.

3. °C-ute – Edo no Temari Uta II – First of all, I love how everyone got at least one line. As far as the music itself, I love the Japanese instruments (I can’t be sure what they are exactly), and the piano. Another plus is the slightly haunting feel this song has; it’s not in-your-face genki pop, and it’s not in-your-face dramatic pop. It’s something different entirely, in my opinion.

4. Athena & Robikerottsu – Seishun! LOVE Lunch
– Definitely my favorite song from this group. This sounds like a marching song, or, at least, the beat sounds like one you would march to. The music kind of reminds me of the music from the Bust-a-Move games, which makes me a bit nostalgic. Overall, this song is just really fun and cute. And it has a lot of Gaki-san, so yay for that!

5. Morning Musume – Nanni mo Iwazu ni I LOVE YOU – The sudden pause after each “nee” is great, because it’s really like the beginning of a conversation, like you’re waiting for the person to pay attention before you continue. Again, the singing is solid, the lyrics are sweet, and the song overall is enjoyable. Even the “la la la”s at the end (which I usually find so irritating and unnecessary) work with the song.

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

