Underappreciated Coupling Tracks

I think coupling tracks in general are underappreciated. Sure, a select few are well known and loved (Love & Peace! Hero ga Yattekita., 3, 2, 1 BREAKIN’ OUT!, Sono Bamen de Bibiccha Ikenai jan!, Odore! Morning Curry, Dekkai Uchuu ni Ai ga Aru, and perhaps Popcorn Love, to name a few), but there are SO many good ones that are passed over. Here are a few from Momusu that I’m rather partial to (single in parentheses).

Ai no Tane (Morning Coffee)- Maybe this one isn’t mentioned as much because they don’t perform it anymore. This is such a lovely song, though; it’s so mellow, and it has an oldies feel to it.

Tatoeba (Daite HOLD ON ME!) – I don’t know if I’ve ever seen this one mentioned in a blog (besides Nacchi’s and Kaori’s) as a favorite. The singing is solid, and the harmonizing is beautiful. Plus, I just like the “sha la la la la la la” parts.

Inspiration! (Renai Revolution 21) – This one may be getting more attention since they performed it fairly recently in concert, but before that it definitely went unnoticed. I think. Besides the song in general, I love the random spoken parts, like “Are?” and “Anta honki de iiten no!?” “USO! maji!?”, as well as the vocalizing at the end.

Chotto Ikashita PURE BOY (Do it! Now) – Of course this one would be on here! Come on… it’s island-y! Not to mention the chorus is super-easy to sing along with and remember.

Please! Jiyuu no Tobira (Onna ni Sachi Are) – Ah~, I love this one. Everyone sounds amazing in this, but Ai-chan really owns it. I was going to talk about how much I love the chorus, then I thought maybe I should talk about how much I love the verses, then I realized I should just say the entire song, beginning to end, is awesome. Because it is.

And a few miscellaneous ones…

DREAM&KISS (Chokotto LOVE) – Pucchimoni was so short lived… anyway… I love the chorus, especially the “(na)naisho (i)hanashi (sho)kiite nee anata” etc. parts. Again, this one doesn’t seem to get a lot of love. Why?

Furimukanaide (Koi no Fuga) – Another adorable, old-school-sounding W song. What else is there to say? The “ha ha ha~” parts are too cute.

Jinx (Ai no Imi wo Oshiete!) – I love how most of the song sounds like it’s being whispered. Also, the background music is great, if a little strange-sounding at first.

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

