Berryz Koubou – Ryuusei Boy PV

Settings – Berryz… in… spaaaaace! I was excited when the video started up, because I thought there would be some stellar hijinks involved. Turns out the girls just dance around on a giant, shiny disc before crashing into a planet.

Outfits – From what I’ve seen, not too many people care for these. *waves white flag* I kind of like them. (^_^’)> I like the fluttery-ness of the sleeves, and the belt/sash and collar give them a slightly cosmic feel. Or something. I really do wish there would have been at least ONE other outfit, though. The girls in general, however, looked great. I wish we could have seen more of Captain. 😦

Dance – To be honest, there were quite a few times where I reacted with: “Ahahaha! … What?” I’m going to have to say that NEWS pulled off the Saturday Night Fever dancing better in Koi no ABO.

Acting – There really wasn’t any acting in this, unless you count the one part where they were flying towards the planet… though there wasn’t much there either, just the girls standing and looking happy/awed. It seems Chinami did make a bit of an effort by stretching her arms back further in one of the typical, “Look at me! I’m flying!” poses, though. (Maybe Miyabi, too.)

Singing – Okay, in order: Miyabi, Risako, Miyabi, Risako, Miyabi, Yurina and Chinami, Momoko and Maasa, Momoko, Miyabi, Risako, Miyabi, Risako, Yurina and Chinami, Momoko and Maasa, Yurina, Risako, Miyabi, Risako, Yurina, Risako. WHERE is Captain?! *cries* The singing is fine, but I wish it were evenly distributed.

Song – The song certainly has the funk factor going for it, and it’s catchy enough. I suppose I can see myself singing along with the chorus at least. Maybe I’ll like it more with time. As it is, it’s not disappointing, but it’s not groundbreaking.

On a final note, I’m glad that I can still depend on Berryz to have a least a little color in their videos; with Morning Musume and C-ute’s more mature styles, darker or subdues colors seem to fit them more, so yay for Berryz brightness!

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

