Morning Musume – Kimagure Princess PV

I know, I know. It took me forever to get this review up. In my defense, I was at a comic convention this past weekend, and I’ve also been sick the past few days. Okay, enough with the excuses, on to the review!

Settings – The castle(?) that they’re dancing in made me happy when I first watched the video; I was glad they weren’t in a run down/deserted building again. I also like the colors: reddish-orangey-yellow, and blue-green. The gate was a nice touch. This setting seems to have a tiiiiny connection to the usual “princess” theme, so maybe that’s why it’s there… or maybe I’m reading into it too much. The room/backdrop used for the fire parts was a pleasant jungle green (what, no one speaks Crayola?), which contrasted nicely with the fire and the black and white outfits. Now for the flowery-type backdrops… *sigh*. I suppose they’re not that bad. Again, I can’t help but feel the slight princess-y-ness of the pattern, but that’s probably just me.

Outfits – I don’t think anyone quite understands how sick I am of black and/or white outfits. >_<* I don’t mind the look of the costumes–in fact, I quite like the flow-y fabric–but, seriously, couldn’t they get a little more color in there?! Also, I must say, the cowboy hats look pretty good. I love when Gaki-san looks down so that her hat covers her face (around 2:14). I don’t quite understand the circular holes/patches/? in their pants, though…

Dance – This dance is great. The “sexy” parts are a bit awkward-looking, but the rest of the dance really makes up for them. I especially like the wave sort of moves they do; you know, when one or two of them do one move, and then another two or three copy it. I know they have a lot of those in their dances, but that doesn’t stop me from liking them. ^__^ I have to laugh at the fact that they’re doing the “cabbage patch” during the “Ii~n ja nai?” parts. XD

Acting – There wasn’t too much acting going on in this, apart from the usual, “Look at the camera all sexy-like.” The girls look great, though, so that’s a plus. I was rather annoyed with the fire parts at first, but I don’t mind them so much anymore. Reina’s kick during the dance break is pretty neat, for some reason. Maybe because it was unexpected. Also, I like Ai-chan’s slow motion shot at 3:21. I also like the fact that the girls are smiling quite a bit in this one, unlike some of their previous PVs.

Singing – Ai-chan totally rocks this song! I love her “Ii~n ja nai?” parts. Eri is also great in this, as well as Gaki-san. I was surprised at the obvious lack of Koharu, this being her last single and all. That doesn’t make the song any less awesome, though.

Song – Like I said, awesome. I know some people don’t care for it, but, much like Nanchatte Renai, I loved it the first time I heard it. However, unlike Nanchatte Renai, this song is a little more upbeat, and I love how different it sounds from their more-or-less generic releases.

Overall, the PV may not be what everyone was expecting, but I think it was refreshing to see something different, even if it’s still a little boring. I love the song, though. =D

~ Surimu-chan

Kimagure Princess

Settings – The castle(?) that they’re dancing in made me happy when I first watched the

video; I was glad they weren’t in a run down/deserted building again. I also like the

colors: reddish-orangey-yellow, and blue-green. The gate was a nice touch. This setting

seems to have a tiiiiny connection to the usual “princess” theme, so maybe that’s why it’s

there… or maybe I’m reading into it too much. The room/backdrop used for the fire

parts was a pleasant jungle green (what, no one speaks Crayola?), which contrasted

nicely with the fire and the black and white outfits. Now for the flowery-type

backdrops… *sigh*. I suppose they’re not that bad. Again, I can’t help but feel the slight

princess-y-ness of the pattern, but that’s probably just me.

Outfits – I don’t think anyone quite understands how sick I am of black and/or white

outfits. >_<* I don’t mind the look of the costumes–in fact, I quite like the flow-y

fabric–but, seriously, couldn’t they get a little more color in there?! Also, I must say, the

cowboy hats look pretty good. I love when Gaki-san looks down so that her hat covers

her face (around 2:14). I don’t quite understand the circular holes/patches/? in their

pants, though…

Dance – This dance is great. The “sexy” parts are a bit awkward-looking, but the rest of

the dance really makes up for them. I especially like the wave sort of moves they do;

you know, when one or two of them do one move, and then another two or three copy

it. I know they have a lot of those in their dances, but that doesn’t stop me from liking

them. ^__^ I have to laugh at the fact that they’re doing the “cabbage patch” during the

“Ii~n ja nai?” parts. XD

Acting – There wasn’t too much acting going on in this, apart from the usual, “Look at the

camera all sexy-like.” The girls look great, though, so that’s a plus. I was rather annoyed

with the fire parts at first, but I don’t mind them so much anymore. Reina’s kick during

the dance break is pretty neat, for some reason. Maybe because it was unexpected.

Also, I like Ai-chan’s slow motion shot at 3:21. I also like the fact that the girls are

smiling quite a bit in this one, unlike some of their previous PVs.

Singing – Ai-chan totally rocks this song! I love her “Ii~n ja nai?” parts. Eri is also great

in this, as well as Gaki-san. I was surprised at the obvious lack of Koharu, this being her

last single and all. That doesn’t make the song any less awesome, though.

Song – Like I said, awesome. I know some people don’t care for it, but, much like

Nanchatte Renai, I loved it the first time I heard it. However, unlike Nanchatte Renai,

this song is a little more upbeat, and I love how different it sounds from their more-or-

less generic releases.

Overall, the PV may not be what everyone was expecting, but I think it was refreshing to

see something different, even if it’s still a little boring. I love the song, though. =D

Leave a Reply

