Berryz Koubou Single Cover Critiques: Part 1

Instead of reviewing songs or PVs, I thought I’d critique something that would better fit my attention span at the moment: single covers! There’s only one thing to look at.  (Ahaha, I managed to get a joke in.) ^_^

I’ll be doing the Berryz covers first since I’ve been on a bit of a Berryz kick for the past few days.  I’ll comment on covers one through ten in this post and covers eleven through twenty in Part 2. Ten each. Perrrfect… Let’s hope the cover for their twenty-first single doesn’t come out until after I’ve finished the second part. So…

1. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai – Captain, Yurina, and Maiha look good in their outfits, but Miyabi looks like the leader of a popular girl clique, i.e. I kind of want to slap her. Maybe it’s the hat. On the topic of hats, why are there three yellow ones? Well, two and a yellow-orange one but whatever. Did green not exist yet? Also, the pink background… why? I think black would have looked better.

2. Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai! – All right! Bright colors! That’s what I’m talkin’ about! Thank goodness you can’t really see the leggings. Ugh. I like the rainbow-ish scarves, though. And the stars! Stars seem to make any cover at least a little bit better. I also like Captain’s “Why am I doing this?” face, and Momo’s “I will eat your face” smile.

3. Piriri to Yukou! – Hmm. So much blue. I mostly like what they’re wearing, except for the few that have those sandals; they just don’t work with the… leg warmers? What exactly do you call those things? Also, Captain’s hat looks like a duck-billed Pacman that’s trying to swallow her head, and the camera angle makes Maiha look like a lawn gnome.

4. Happiness ~Koufuku Kangei!~ – Miyabi, Maiha, Captain… those are some hats. Momo, Risako, and Miya don’t seem to mind being captured and sold to crazed wota so the other members can buy Maasa a less awkward facial expression. On the plus side, I like the grass and sky set, though I suppose it is rather cheesy-looking.

5. Koi no Jubaku – YES. Just… YES. Bright colors and the girls looking adorable (even though Maasa still has a somewhat awkward smile). Plus the beaded curtain, sparkles, and gypsy-esque clothes really give it a “magical” feel.

6. Special Generation – Ugh. Man, for being such a popular song, it sure has a hideous cover. Not only is this cover completely boring, but none of the girls look that great in it. Especially poor Maasa. *cringes*

7. Nanchuu Koi wo Yatteruu YOU KNOW? – Whee~! Jumping! Random trails of fabric! And… more blue. What to say about this one? It’s better than Special Generation, but still rather boring.

8. 21ji Made no Cinderella – I love how Maiha’s all smiley and everyone else is… not… really. Oh, wait, Maasa’s awkward smile returns. This is the fifth single with hats on the cover… as far as I could see in the ones where they weren’t wearing hats, their heads weren’t weird-shaped or anything. I guess hats were in around this time? Other than that I’m glad to see bright colors again.

9. Gag 100kaibun Aishite Kudasai – Eh… well, you can pretty much tell who’s who. So that’s… good… I guess. I’m just kind of indifferent to this one.

10. Jiriri Kiteru – Wait, I thought this was a more serious song… Did I miss something? Well, I guess it’s got a cute, purikura-ish look. O_O AAH Chinami, what happened to your hair?! I didn’t even notice it in 21ji Made no Cinderella… Oh, THAT’S what the hats were for!

Well, stay tuned for Part 2!

~ Surimu-chan

1. Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai

2. Fighting Pose wa Date ja nai!

3. Piriri to Yukou!

4. Happiness ~Koufuku Kangei!~

5. Koi no Jubaku

6. Special Generation

7. Nanchuu Koi wo Yatteruu YOU KNOW?

8. 21ji Made no Cinderella

9. Gag 100kaibun Aishite Kudasai

10. Jiriri Kiteru

Leave a Reply

